The Secret’s In The Sauce!

by mommahasapottymouth

I know so many people who despise Meatloaf. I am not one of them. I remember my first attempt at the creation I was so proud that I took a  picture to send to my momma. Ha ha that picture looked way better than it tasted. By a long shot.

I have since played with the recipe, until I came up with what I like to call a masterpiece! So I think that its time to share the good fortune of this, and turn the non believers in to true believers. There is not a single person who has tried this and said yuck! (well at least no to my face)

 

 

Remember, and I will ALWAYS remind you, I do not measure anything.

 

1 lbs hamburger

1/2 lbs italian or hot sausage

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

worstishier sauce

1 egg

italian bread crumbs

cheddar cheese, shredded

ketchup

mustard

brown sugar

salt

pepper

dash of cayenne pepper

2 Swanson’s beef concentrated flavor packets

 

Mix the meat well so you wont bite into a chunk of either meat when it’s cooked.

Add: cheese, bread crumbs (enough to make it sticky after the egg and other things have been added) egg and all other ingredients, except sugar. Mix well. Dont be afraid to get your hands in there. It’s the only way to make sure that everything is mixed. Form meat into a loaf, top with a little of the ketchup and mustard, and a sprinkle of the sugar. Place on a raised rack in a pan. Cook in oven at 350 for one hour or until meat is cooked thru.

In a separate bowl (microwave safe) add lots of ketchup and mustard. The color should be a deep orange. Add a hand full of brown sugar. Mix well. Warm in microwave until hot. Pour over cooked meat. Also serve as a dipping sauce on the side. This is what makes the loaf so yummy.

This goes well with roasted potatoes, or mashed. If you have not looked at my tips on my secret to potatoes, do so here!

Enjoy. I would love to hear if anyone tried this and how they feel about it.

2 Comments to “The Secret’s In The Sauce!”

  1. Meatloaf is one of those few comfort foods that I miss since I went vegan several years ago . . . I still love the smell of it baking in the oven. I used to mix brown sugar in ketchup and coat my meatloaf (that I made with ground turkey). The topping baked in and kept it moist and it was sooooo yummy. Meatloaf is one of those recipes where everyone has their special little secret sauce or ingredient. Nice of you to share your little secret. : )

    • It is a comfort food in my house! I could not imagine being vegan. I love too many of the things you do no eat to even consider it!

      The other comfort food is tomato soup and grilled cheese. and that is on the menu for tonight!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Chicquero

Nothing but an induced epidemic!

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Cropable Relationships?

Exploring Long Term Relationships ... Do I belong in the pic? ... Do I stay or do I go?

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Memoirs of a Mom Who Ticks

divorced bipolar mom, on a mission to remove stigma surrounding mental illness, movies, being broke, body acceptance, and raising boys and whatever else I feel like writing about.

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

Blue Aventurine

A place to read and share metaphysical stuff.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Kimberley Ward Photography

www.kimberleyward.co.uk

Tactical Transgressions

In Defense of the United States Constitution

Life in Little Boxes

Thoughts of a Young, Random, Slightly Moody Mama.

Developmental Mommy

Developmental research from a mommy perspective (or vice versa)

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

