Let Them Be Little

by mommahasapottymouth

I had to grow up too fast. Between then things others did to me, to what I HAD to do for my little brother and sister ( who I no longer have contact with, sadly), I became older faster than I had to. I intend to break that cycle with my own children.

(Let my clarify things before I go on here though. My momma and daddy did the best they could with me. I was a wild child and had no care about others or consequences. I just didn’t give a fuck. I ran away when I was 14, thinking that the grass would be greener. I went to live with the man who helped create me. For a while it was “butterflies and balloons,” but I can promise you that it did not stay that way. My best friend took advantage of me, and I had to pay the price. Things went way down hill from there. Soon I had to care for my young sister and brother, along with my “CHARENTS” (child-like-parents) who stayed out all night every night drinking. Sorry if any of you are reading this, but its a hell of a lot cheaper than therapy. Which I may very well need. Anyway, I became a momma before my time. Now though, my sister has disowned me and I have not spoken to my father since before my son was born. Oh well. Thats the unfairness of life as we know it. Now, back to what I was saying.)

Mommas need to hear this, so loudly I will say it. You may not be able to hear my voice, but you can be sure that my voice is loud and clear as I type this.

DON’T FORCE YOUR BABIES TO GROW UP TOO FAST!!!!

  • Let them play house, don’t make them a slave to clean yours!
  • They are not built-in baby sitters. You had them because you loved them, so you must love them.
  • See the wonder thru their eyes, soak it up. Before too long it will be gone. And once its gone, it wont be comin back.
  • Talk to them!! Ask them how their days where, even if all you want to do is shut them up. Soon they will be gone.
  • Cherish each moment with them, because tomorrow is not promised to anyone!
  • Get a punching bag, don’t take it out on them.
  • Children learn hate, they are not born with it. Don’t teach them. Our world is filled with hate, why add to it?
  • Kiss them. When they are older they will think they are too old for it.
  • Make each one of them think they are your favorite, even if you only have one favorite. They will always remember that.
  • They need you. Be there for them.
  • JUST LET THEM BE LITTLE!

I am not perfect by along shot. But watching my babies grow up fills me up to the top of my toes with joy. I can not imagine them being older and not needing me, and for now I do not have to worry about that. If my daughter is still helping her daddy work on cars at 15, well then I will still be happy. She will grow up knowing how to be a kid. She will never have to wait up until I get home from the bar to let me in, or have to clean my house after I have had a night of partying. Her brother will never have to ask her if momma and daddy still love them. They will never have to worry about things they need not worry about, like bills being paid or going shopping for food. I plan to let them be little.

My babies being babies!!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Chicquero

Nothing but an induced epidemic!

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

Cropable Relationships?

Exploring Long Term Relationships ... Do I belong in the pic? ... Do I stay or do I go?

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Memoirs of a Mom Who Ticks

divorced bipolar mom, on a mission to remove stigma surrounding mental illness, movies, being broke, body acceptance, and raising boys and whatever else I feel like writing about.

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

Blue Aventurine

A place to read and share metaphysical stuff.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Kimberley Ward Photography

www.kimberleyward.co.uk

Tactical Transgressions

In Defense of the United States Constitution

Life in Little Boxes

Thoughts of a Young, Random, Slightly Moody Mama.

Developmental Mommy

Developmental research from a mommy perspective (or vice versa)

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

